Company Information

McWane Science Center is the cornerstone of Birmingham, Alabama's downtown revitalization.  This state-of-the-art museum is housed in the historic and refurbished Loveman's department store building. 

In 1998, Discovery Place and Red Mountain Museum merged to create a stimulating interactive science museum now called McWane Science Center.

McWane Science Center, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, gets its name from the McWane family and McWane Foundation, sources of funding that made the center a reality for Birmingham and the region.

Designed to inspire a life-long love of learning, McWane Science Center has welcomed millions of visitors since opening its doors in 1998. Explorers — from ages 1 to 100 — flock year-round to see, to hear, to touch, and to experience the wonder of science in one of the South’s most unique venues.


To change lives through science and wonder.

To combine our unique assets to create unique experiences that parents and  teachers value and that kids love.

President & CEO: Amy W. Templeton

Board of Trustees

The primary responsibility of the McWane Science Center Board of Trustees is to establish policy for the science center and monitor the execution of that policy.

Chairman: Forest W.Whatley, Jr.

Chairman Elect: D. Scott Adams

Secretary: Elissa H. Tyson

Treasurer: Charles W. Redden

Gene V. Ball
Harry H. Bayer
Archie L. Cobbs
Charles A. Collat Jr.
Sheri S. Cook
Charles D. Goodrich
David M. Gray
Penney Hartline
C. Duncan Hulsey, II
Norman Jetmundsen, Jr.
Alesia M. Jones
C. Lou Kirchen
Geeta Lakhanpal
Gordon G. Martin
Charles G.  Mason
John W. McCullough
C. Phillip McWane
April A. Odom
Dorothy D. Pak
James E. Richardson
R. Stephen Ricks
William D. Ritter
Sanjay K. Singh
William E. Smith III

Endowment Board

President: Harry H. Bayer

Secretary/Treasurer: Lynn LaRussa

William W. Brooke
Harry H. Bayer
James D. Davis
Kristen M. Hudak
Lynn F. LaRussa
James P. Naftel, II
Margaret M. Porter
Charles W. Redden
Garland C. Smith
Carl S. Thigpen
Forest W. Whatley, Jr.
Lloyd R. Wilson