Open Today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
McWane Science Center Print Logo


Leadership & Board of Directors

Amy Templeton 

McWane Science Center President and CEO

Amy Templeton has served as the President and CEO of McWane Science Center since November of 2012.  She came to McWane from the Birmingham Museum of Art, where she served as Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer from 2005 until 2012, and as Director of Development and Planned Giving from 1999 until 2005.  She earned her B.A. in Political Science and Sociology from Birmingham-Southern College in Birmingham, Alabama, and her J.D. from Vanderbilt University School of Law in Nashville, Tennessee.  She then served as Director of Planned Giving for Vanderbilt University for fourteen years before moving to Birmingham to join the Birmingham Museum of Art staff. Amy is a member of the Kiwanis Club of Birmingham, The Women’s Network, and the Norton Advisory Board at Birmingham-Southern College.  Following a devastating tornado that hit Birmingham in April, 2011, Amy played a leadership role in the recovery process in Birmingham’s Pratt City neighborhood, chairing the History and Culture committee, which focused on rebuilding the sense of community and quality of life in this hard-hit area.

2018 Board of Trustees

  • Chairman: Mr. J. Bowen Thagard, Jr., EBSCO Information Services
  • Past Chairman: Mr. Gordon G. Martin
  • Secretary: Ms. Leigh Davis (Governance Chair)
  • Treasurer:  Mr. Nicholas O. Willis (Finance Chair)

  • Dr. J. Iwan D. Alexander
  • Ms. Taylor P. Davis
  • Ms. Stephanie Hill Alexander
  • Mr. John P. Dulin, Jr
  • Ms. Lisa Jernigan Bruhn
  • Mr. Collin R. Gaston
  • Ms. Shannon U. Holt
  • Dr. Geeta Lakhanpal
  • Mr. Robert Howard
  • Mr. Daniel H. Markstein, IV (Strategy Chair)
  • Ms. Alesia M. Jones
  • Mr. Stephen Owens
  • Mr. Travis Pritchett
  • Mr. Jim Screws
  • Mr. Evan Ray
  • Mr. Cedric D. Sparks, Sr.
  • Ms. Atisthan Roach
  • Mr. George Trible IV
  • Dr. Gary York
  • Ms. Kavita Vasil
  • Mr. William W. Brooke
  • William W. Brooke, McWane Science Center Endowment Board President

2018 Endowment Board Roster

  • President: William W. Brooke, Harbert Management Corporation
  • Secretary: Sheri Cook, Altec Inc.
  • Treasurer: Charles Miller, Harbert Management
  • Nina J. Botsford
  • Gillian Goodrich
  • Norman Jetmundsen, Vulcan Materials
  • Forest Whatley, Jr., Oakworth Capital Bank

J. Bowen Thagard– Chair, McWane Science Center Board of Trustees
Nick Willis – Treasurer, McWane Science Center Board of Trustees